Bengal: Mixture of previous arms and new faces in Mamata Banerjee’s third cupboard | Kolkata Information

Bengal: Mix of old hands and new faces in Mamata Banerjee's 3rd cabinet | Kolkata News - Times of India

Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee introduced an inventory of its cupboard ministers

KOLKATA: The third cupboard with Mamata Banerjee as chief minister is about to be sworn in on Monday, with its 43 members comprising an nearly equal mixture of the seasoned and the brand new. Whereas 17 senior ministers who had been in each the sooner cupboards have all discovered a spot the third time round, 16 are set to be first-time ministers.
Amit Mitra, who didn’t contest the Bengal polls, returns to the state cupboard. Manas Bhunia, Pulak Ray, Rathin Ghosh and Biplab Mitra additionally step into the cupboard — Ray, Ghosh and Mitra for the primary time — after main the get together fightbacks in West Midnapore, Howrah and South Dinajpur. Cricketer Manoj Tiwari additionally will get a spot within the new cupboard, as does former IPS officer Humayun Kabir.
Eight girls ministers may even be sworn in, with Sashi Panja the one one to get a cupboard rank. Among the many eight girls ministers, three — Sandhyarani Tudu, Jyotsna Mandi and Birbaha Hansda — are from Scheduled Tribe communities. Madan Mitra, a transport minister within the first Mamata Banerjee cupboard, and Tapas Roy, Tapan Dasgupta, Asima Patra, Manturam Pakhira, ministers within the second cupboard, didn’t get a ministerial berth.
Dasgupta and Patra, each from Hooghly, have been changed by Becharam Manna, the Singur winner (he was a minister within the first TMC cupboard however obtained dropped from the second), and former Lok Sabha MP Ratna De Nag. Pakhira was changed by Bankim Hazra from South 24 Parganas, for not solely growing Sagar, a Hindu pilgrimage website, but in addition for being a key organiser within the Gangasagar Mela, held throughout Covid with minimal public well being worries.
In response to get together leaders, there won’t be any large shock in portfolio-allocation. Whereas asserting her candidate listing forward of the polls, Banerjee had made it clear that whereas Mitra wouldn’t contest as a consequence of well being causes, he can be within the cupboard, even suggesting the formation of a bicameral legislature in Bengal after it was carried out away with in 1969.
Among the many get together leaders who’ve been rewarded for holding on to the organisation to steer a fightback within the face of mass defections, a number of anti-Suvendu Adhikari leaders have discovered a spot within the state cupboard. This contains Ramnagar MLA Akhil Giri and Keshpur MLA Seuli Saha. Including to the listing is Srikanto Mahato from Salboni.
All first-time cupboard ministers are veteran get together loyalists who’ve all the time labored behind the scenes. Ray, a Chhatra Parishad chief from the early 80s, all the time moved together with Mamata Banerjee. An MLA from Uluberia South, he fought again defection in rural Howrah. Biplab Mitra, a trusted Mamata Banerjee lieutenant, had defected to BJP briefly in 2019 solely to return and lead the get together fightback in South Dinajpur. Ghosh is the third-time MLA from Madhyamgram and four-time chairman of Madhyamgram Municipality.
In north Bengal, Malbazar noticed a minister — Bulu Chikbaraik — after 36 years. Parimal Mitra was the final minister from Malbazar. Paresh Chandra Adhkari of Mekhliganj, who was meals and civil provides minister in the course of the Left regime, additionally got here again as an MoS. In Malda’s Mothabari, MLA Sabina Yasmin, who was MoS labour in 2011 as a Congress MLA, was made MoS after she defected and received.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply