By election results: Counting in three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats today, from Bhagwant’s ‘honour’ to Akhilesh’s reputation at stake

By election results: Counting in three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats today, from Bhagwant's 'honour' to Akhilesh's reputation at stake
New Delhi : The counting of by-elections in 7 assembly seats including 3 Lok Sabha seats in the national capital Delhi and 5 other states will be held on June 27. Voting for the Lok Sabha and assembly by-elections took place on June 23. The political future of Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha and others is at stake in this by-election. Counting of votes will start at 8 am. First the counting of votes received by post will start and after that the EVMs will be opened. Security arrangements have been beefed up for the counting of votes.

Tripura has the maximum number of four seats where votes have been cast in the by-elections. These seats include Agartala, Jubrajnagar, Soorma and Town Bardowali. Saha, who is trying his luck from Town Bardowali, must win this election to remain the Chief Minister. He is a Rajya Sabha member who took the oath of office and secrecy last month as the chief minister of the state following the sudden resignation of Biplab Deb.

Highest voting took place in Tripura
In this northeastern state, the highest number of voters, 76.62 per cent, exercised their franchise in the polling conducted on Thursday. By-elections were also held in Rampur and Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh and Sangrur Lok Sabha constituencies in Punjab and these seats also went to polls on June 23.

Other states where by-elections have been held include Rajinder Nagar in capital Delhi, Mandar in Ranchi district of Jharkhand and Atmakuru seat in Andhra Pradesh.

The seats were vacant due to the resignation of Akhilesh and Azam
In Uttar Pradesh, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and party leader Azam Khan were declared elected. After Akhilesh won from Azamgarh Lok Sabha, Azam Khan had resigned from Rampur Lok Sabha seat, after which both the Lok Sabha seats fell vacant.

From Rampur Lok Sabha seat, Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi who recently joined the party. SP has fielded Asim Raza, who is Azam Khan’s favorite candidate. The BSP, led by former UP Chief Minister Mayawati, has not fielded a candidate from this seat.

Triangular match in Azamgarh
There is a triangular contest in the Azamgarh seat of the state, from where the BJP has fielded famous Bhojpuri actor Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirhua in the electoral arena. Nirhua is contesting against SP’s Dharmendra Yadav and BSP’s Shah Alam alias Guddu Jamali.

Bhagwant Mann’s reputation at stake
Due to the resignation of MP Bhagwant Mann from Sangrur Lok Sabha seat, there has been a need to hold the by-election here. Mann, who was declared elected in the assembly elections held in the state this year, was made the chief minister of the state. Mann was elected MP from this seat in 2014 and 2019. This by-election will prove to be a test of popularity for the ruling Aam Aadmi Party in the state after a landslide victory in the assembly elections.

The election comes at a time when opposition parties are attacking the ruling Aam Aadmi Party over the poor law and order situation in Punjab and the murder of Congress leader and singer Sidhu Musewala. The Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Sangrur district in-charge Gurmel Singh as its candidate, while the main opposition Congress has given ticket to former Dhuri MLA Dalveer Singh Goldie. The BJP has fielded former Barnala MLA Kewal Singh Dhillon, who quit the Congress and joined the saffron party on June 4.

The Shiromani Akali Dal has nominated Kamaldeep Kaur, sister of Balwant Singh Rajoana, convicted in the murder case of former and late Punjab Chief Minister Beant Singh, from the Sangrur Lok Sabha seat. Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) chief Simranjit Singh Mann is also trying his political luck in this by-election.

Jharkhand bypoll status
After the disqualification of MLA from Mandar assembly constituency in Jharkhand, Bandhu Tirkey, the need to hold a by-election here. A special court of the Central Bureau of Investigation sentenced Tirkey to three years’ imprisonment on March 28 in a corruption case. Congress has fielded Tirkey’s daughter Shilpi Neha Tirkey from this seat. Shilpi Neha is the joint candidate of Congress-JMM. The BJP has fielded former MLA Gangotra Kujur.

The NDA is also included in the JMM government of Jharkhand. Independent candidate Dev Kumar Dhan is also in the fray, who has the support of Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen. In Delhi’s Rajinder Nagar assembly seat, the main contest is between Durgesh Pathak of Aam Aadmi Party and Rajesh Bhatia of BJP. Bhatia is a councilor from the area. Congress has fielded Premlata from here.

There has been a need to hold a by-election here after the resignation of Rajinder Nagar MLA Raghav Chadha, who has been elected to the Rajya Sabha. Elections were held here in Andhra Pradesh after the death of Industries Minister M Gowtham Reddy. Reddy’s Anuj Vikram Reddy is the ruling YSR Congress candidate who is pitted against BJP’s G Bharat Kumar Yadav.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply