Declaration of dates of assembly elections in 5 states, EC press conference begins


New Delhi: Election dates are being announced regarding the most important festival in democracy i.e. elections. Let us tell you that Legislative Assembly elections are to be held in 5 states. These 5 states include Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur. The Election Commission had already made it clear that the elections will not be postponed due to Corona. According to sources, elections can be held in UP in 6 to 7 phases.

Important points of ECI

  • 24.9 lakh voters will cast their vote for the first time

  • 29% female voters increased in UP

  • 18.34 crore voters in 5 states

  • Election officials visited the booth

Let us inform that in the midst of increasing cases of corona, the Election Commission has held several rounds of talks with health officials and also took stock of the situation of Kovid-19 in all the election states. In such a situation, it is expected that some new rules can also be announced.

More than 15 crore voters will vote in UP

Let us tell you that the last Legislative Assembly election in Uttar Pradesh (UP Assembly Elections) happened in 7 stages. This time more than 15 crore voters will vote in UP. In the year 2017, the Election Commission had announced the dates for the Legislative Assembly elections in these 5 states on 3 January. This time the dates for the Legislative Assembly elections are going to be announced on January 8. According to information received from sources, elections can be held in Uttar Pradesh in 5-7 phases, in Punjab in 1-2 phases and in Manipur in 1-2 phases, while in Uttarakhand in 1 phase.

Elections are going to be held between Kovid

Significantly, the Legislative Assembly elections in these states are going to be held at a time when there is once again a big jump in the cases of corona virus infection across the country and there has been a demand to postpone the elections in some circles. Election Commission officials had discussed this matter with other senior officials including Union Health Secretary Rajesh Bhushan two days ago, in which the current situation of Kovid and measures to deal with it were discussed.

this time election will be different

In view of the situation of Kovid in the country, it is clear that the entire process will be completed between following the Kovid protocol first at the polling stations and then during the counting of votes, as has been done earlier in the elections held during Kovid in other states. Along with the announcement of the dates of assembly elections in five states by the Election Commission, information related to the Kovid protocol is also expected to be shared at the polling and counting centers.

how many seats in which state

Uttar Pradesh – 403 Legislative Assembly seats

Goa – 40 seats

Manipur – 60 Legislative Assembly seats

Punjab – 117 Legislative Assembly seats

Uttarakhand- 70 Legislative Assembly seats

What were the results in 2017

Let us tell you that in the last assembly elections of Uttar Pradesh, BJP got a big victory. BJP alliance got 325, SP 47, BSP 19, Congress 7 and others 7 seats. At the same time, in the 2017 Legislative Assembly elections, the Congress got a majority in Punjab. Congress won 77 seats, Aam Aadmi Party 20, Akali Dal 15 and BJP 3 seats. Let us tell you that there is a BJP government in Uttarakhand too. In the last assembly elections, BJP had won 56 seats, Congress 11 and others on 2 seats.

Live TV

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply