Sri Lanka created history, defeated by 4 runs in a thrilling match, won the ODI series against Australia after 30 years. SL Vs AUS Sri Lanka Won The ODI Series Against Australia At Home After | Patrika News


Prior to this series, in the last 30 years, Australia toured Sri Lanka thrice for an ODI series and each time the Kangaroos won. Australia defeated Sri Lanka on their own land in 2004, 2011 and 2016. There was a time when Sri Lanka had legendary players like Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Chaminda Vaas and Lasith Malinga. Despite this, Sri Lanka could never beat Australia on their own land. But this young bridegroom of Dasoon Shanka did this feat.

In the fourth match, Charith Aslanka scored a century while batting brilliantly for Sri Lanka. Aslanka scored 110 runs. For this he was adjudged the player of the match. In this match, Australia won the toss and decided to bowl. Coming to bat first, Sri Lanka did not have a good start and the entire team was bundled out for 258 runs in 49 overs. Apart from Aslanka, Dhananjay de Silva scored 60 and Wanindu Hasaranga scored 21 runs. For Australia, Mitchell Marsh, Pat Cummins, Matthew Kuehneman took two wickets each. Glenn Maxwell got a breakthrough.

In reply, Australia could only manage 254 runs in 50 overs. Opener David Warner scored 99 runs for Australia. Apart from him, Pat Cummins scored 35, Travis Head scored 27 and Mitchell Marsh scored 26 runs. Dhananjaya de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne and Geoffrey Vandersay took two wickets each for Sri Lanka.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply